A few last thoughts

The Last Word

 

Thought I’d say a few last words, knowing me there’s always room for a bit more waffle  🙂

But running out of energy to do any more. We are starting to say goodbye to folks- aware that the old body is not performing as it should. Eyes are failing, Sleep is taking over.

So what would you say?

I just wanted to emphasise how beautiful the people are whom I’ve worked with.

I suppose partly against the grain of the modern tribal culture, I want to say it is beautiful Muslims who I’ve shared a meal and chamomile tea with, and talked about Allah and Isa. People who’ve let me into their home over and over again. A Muslim chaplain, who pulled out all the stops to get me into one of Britain’s highest security prisons, because he was so keen for me to talk about Jesus being available to prisoners on all sorts of levels.

I want to talk about the boys who I got to know who’s reputation would have put them high on this so called gang culture, yet I found great beauty and belief and affirmation for me and them, they’ve just written a card to me in the last couple of days. I’m quite sure if many of us had lived their lives, we would also find ourselves somewhat just as lost.

Yet believing in them, and them discovering the faith and learning to believe in themselves. My strongest hope is that they will be released from prison early and make a massive difference in their culture.

And the Iranians- we knocked on one door, meeting a man whose leg had been shot off in half during persecution. So we prayed for him, hoping he’d find a new way. Many years later, over 100 of his colleagues have been baptized into a new way, of love and peace.

Then there was the amazing Alice, a child parent who raised her own children from the age of 11 because all her family had been killed in the Rwandan genocide. We had the immense privilege of sponsoring her child, Mugisha through school; put more importantly something happened when I met Alice.

Alice was in a slum environment, at the bottom of a steep hill. As soon as I met her, it became apparent she was a leader of this community that needed direction and hope. She had learnt about that hope and knew how to bring it. I spent 2/3 days with her, talking through what that might mean, and she was up for it. By the time we left we had gathered around her community of over 100 people who were ready to walk with her to transform their community into one flavoured with the beautiful message of Jesus Christ. 6 months later that community continued to thrive.

Or Billy Moore in Northern Ireland. A man who rose up from the ranks of the estate in which his first house was, a known character among the paramilitaries, who wouldn’t say boo to a goose. Then when a close friend was machetied down, leaving a widow and 3 young children, the man Billy rose up, determined to lead his community in the power of the spirit, and he became a bright light. Now there are projects in these estates to free young men from the tyranny of oppression and no hope. He’s involved the local men (once toting guns in Northern Ireland), who are now filling in forms to get grants. He has the women singing in choirs over their communities, and Christmas carol services to lift up the elderly, and back in Belfast long standing estate workers are asking him, ‘what are you doing to get in these communities? Something’s changed, please help us.’

All of these are small examples of what it means to use these pillars,* (being written out separately) to say what looks impossible may indeed be be difficult, but with perseverance and the right attitude, it will be done, and the world can be changed.

Despite mush frustration.  There is is so much hope

 

13 Comments

Leave a Comment

  1. I am reminded of the following verses from 2 Timothy 4, 6 – 8: the time for my departure is near. I have fought the good fight, I have finished the race, I have kept the faith. Now there is in store for me the crown of righteousness, which the Lord, the righteous judge, will award to me on that day – and not only to me, but also to all who have longed for his appearing.

    I cannot think of anything more fitting.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Martin, you don’t know me (@tentims – a twitter name that came about because when my son asked for a password I suggested why not ’10 Tims’ as 1,2 and 3 was gone…so he then wrote timtimtimtim etc…. bless him) but I have followed you on twitter for some time now from a birding point of view…I had no idea of your situation nor your strong faith. I can only offer you my prayers and the prayers of my family (wife and 3 boys) and wish you a safe trip to Heaven. Like you I am not a active prayer but I am like you, absolutely confident I have my hand held at every step of the way and that has always given me comfort and calmness in my adult life. Thank you for this last message, you have given so much these past couple of years to the birding community & I am sure to others too that all i can do is wish you a safe passage with my love and prayers…God Bless you and your loved ones always ..Jim, Natalie, Paddy, Tim and Michael

    Like

  3. Hello dear Martin – a lovely message of hope and, so typically, all about others and not about you. Your thoughts about our Muslim brothers are so pertinent and I’m glad you shared them. Nothing about birds – but my goodness what a fantastic contribution you make. All my good wishes. Richard.

    Like

  4. Wonderful memories and so many lives touched by you You will live on in so many people’s experience of you
    God bless you Martin and thanks to God for creating you and to you for being obedient to His will for you

    Like

  5. Martin, Scott and I send you,Sharon and the Girls much love. Thank you for letting us share your exciting, painful,awful, personal and inspiring journey.you are a big man in every way and we love you. Travel well and safe in the knowledge that you are not alone and That underneath you all are the everlasting arms. Bless you big daddy xx

    Like

  6. Martin. We’ve known each other a long time, since the earlier days of Frodders. Your enthusiasm for not only birds, but for your fellow human beings, is an example for us all. During my time in the Middle East I too was taken care of by moslems and agree with your sentiments entirely. Thank you for challenging and changing the way birding used to be. Future generations of birders will be so much better because of you. My thoughts are with you and your family.

    Like

  7. So sorry to hear this Martin. Thankyou for the encouraging stories & honest faith. I remember your sense of humour in Hillhall & your openness to the Holy Spirit. Praying for you, Sharon & the girls. Roger & Fiona

    Like

  8. Dear, dear Martin, even at the end you cannot help but touch the heats of others just as Jesus does. You have always been an inspiration, always meeting people where they’re at, not judging but drawing alongside and building people up to be the person God made them to be. I see your life as a seed sown; when it dies it will grow to reap a harvest of souls and you will celebrate with the other saints in heaven. You go before us but we will follow on. Bless you Martin. Bless you for your faithfulness, your zest for life, your love and compassion and most of all for being a wonderful husband, father and friend. Bev xxxx

    Like

  9. Dear Martin. You are such an inspiration, in so many different ways. We may have only met a few times, and perhaps we will not meet again on this earth, but I am looking forward to catching up sometime later. Will there be birds in heaven? Surely! You have taught so many of us to open our eyes and minds here on earth, I can’t wait to be blown away by your discoveries in heaven. God bless you and your family in these last precious moments together. Goodbye for now, but not forever.

    Like

  10. Oh Martin, what a Brilliant message to leave. Sharon & your Girls must be so proud of you. THANK YOU for so many encouragements to our family-its little things you rember each other for. PEACE my Lovelies, lean on and into Him. Much Love Annie X

    Like

  11. Martin, please be assured of my thoughts and prayers for yourself and my continued daily prayers for Sharon and your Girls. You have been and continue to be such an inspiration as you continually look to your Saviour, even in the midst of life’s greatest trial. Your Faith has remained as strong today as it did on that first day in your early twenties when you opened your old life to Him and received His new life within and faithfully went wherever He called you to go and do whatever He told you to do both individually, as a married couple and later in life as a family. I pray at this time that you will become even more aware of the fullness of God’s presence surrounding you and His immense peace and love within. I also pray that the immediate and wider family circle will draw their strength from God into their lives each day.

    Love in Christ from John, Joanne, Nathan & Thomas O’Neill

    Like

Leave a comment